Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Receptions for Re//Woven and Dorothea Van Camp at Montserrat Galleries

September 22, 2016 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Tickets Starting at: Free

Event Navigation

Join Montserrat College of Art for a night in celebration of two exhibitions! Food and beverages will be served- come get your art fill!

RE//Woven features the work of Liz Collins (New York, NY), Nathan Green (Brooklyn, NY), Cal Lane (Putnam Valley, NY), Maria Molteni (Boston, MA), Raquel Paiewonsky (Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic), and Stacey Piwinski (Boston, MA). Each artist borrows, interprets, and responds to the aesthetics and processes of traditional weaving and pattern-making through the use of unconventional mediums and the manipulation of unlikely objects. Curated by Associate Curator of Exhibitions and Programs, Pam Campanaro, the exhibition intertwines the relationship between contemporary aesthetics and ancient gesture.

Dorothea Van Camp’s mixed media pieces depict an atmosphere in the midst of transformation. Parts of her work show hints of recognizable objects, but they also raise questions that make them “resist definition.” The subtle colors and lines that Van Camp uses in her work create an entrancing and hypnotizing image. Van Camp attended Rhode Island School of Design, Providence, RI where she received a BFA in installation. She has exhibited at the Alpan Gallery, New York, NY, the Kingston Gallery, Boston, MA, and the Acacia Gallery, Gloucester, MA.

For more on RE//Woven, visit: www.montserrat.edu/portfolio-item/re-woven

Liz Collins- lizcollins.com
Nathan Green- nathangreenart.com
Cal Lane- callane.com
Stacey Piwinski- staceypiwinski.com
Raquel Paiewonsky- raquelpaiewonsky.com
Maria Molteni- maria-molteni.squarespace.com

For more on Dorothea Van Camp: Varations on Screen, visit: www.montserrat.edu/portfolio-item/dorothea-van-camp

Dorothea Van Camp- www.unit35.com

Details

Date:
September 22, 2016
Time:
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Website:
http://www.montserrat.edu/galleries/

Venue