Edit your Listings My Account Become a Member

Annual Meeting & Awards Ceremony

Thank you to our sponsors, state, regional, and municipal leaders, all award recipients and attendees
for making this event a great success. Please CLICK HERE to access our photo gallery.

North of Boston CVB Annual Meeting, Tourism Awards
& Mini-Grant Ceremony

Thursday, November 7, 2019
Blue Ocean Event Center
 4 Ocean Front N, in Salisbury
5:30pm to 9:00pm

Exterior view of Blue Ocean Music Hall in Salisbury.

CLICK HERE to purchase tickets.


5:30pm – Check-in and Cocktail Hour
6:30pm – Dinner
7:15pm – Awards Presentation
8:00pm – Remarks/ Board Inductions & Thank you for Service
8:30pm – Closing Remarks

2018 Tourism Award Winners


2019 Anne Turcotte Leadership Award 

Karen and Glenn Cook
Cider Hill Farm

This leadership award was renamed in 2012 in honor of our colleague and friend Anne Turcotte. The award is given to an individual or organization whose innovation, expertise and energy serves as an inspiration for others in the tourism industry.

2019 Geoff Woodman Hospitality Award

Ben Lithgow
The House of the Seven Gables

The Geoff Woodman Hospitality Award is given to an individual who has contributed significantly to the tourism industry of the North of Boston region and honors the NBCVB member who best exemplifies the region’s hospitality.

 2019 Story Teller Award

Harold Burnham
Schooner Ardelle

The Story Teller Award honors the region’s best storytellers-the individuals, who share not only their company’s story, but all the rich history and culture of the region in everything they do in celebration of the North of Boston’s regional theme: “A Story in Every Mile”.

2019 Small Business Award

Paul Gentile
Gentile Brewing Company

The Small Business Award is given to a small business owner who recognizes the importance of the tourism industry and is committed to servicing the visitors of Essex County.

2019 Frontline Hospitality Award

Bob Meehan
Beauport Hotel

The Frontline Hospitality Award, given for the first time in 2012, has been designed to honor a member of the region’s frontline service ambassadors. The friendliness, knowledge and customer service of these individuals set the tone for a visitors’ stay within the region. This individual regularly goes beyond to provide excellent customer service and encourage guests
to explore the region while visiting.

2019 New Member Award

Briar Barn Inn

The New Member Award is given to a new member of the North of Boston Convention and Visitors’ Bureau that recognizes the importance of tourism within the region and has made great strides within their first years of membership to support tourism.

2019 Award of Appreciation

 Diana DiZoglio
Massachusetts Senate

The Award of Appreciation is given out to those individuals who have gone above and beyond to promote tourism in Essex County.

2019 Special Recognition Award

The North of Boston CVB is proud to recognize the following municipalities for their collective leadership, compassion and perseverance
during and since the Merrimack Valley natural gas disaster in 2018.

City of Lawrence
Town of Andover
Town of North Andover

2018 Tourism Mini-Grant Recipients

Congratulations to our 2019 Tourism Mini-Grant Recipients

Grant Recipient Project
Amesbury Chamber of Commerce PowWow! Summer Series Print Brochure with web ipload
Cape Ann Chamber of Chamber of Commerce 2019 Cape Ann Guide + Directory
Destination Salem 2019 Salem Guide & Map
Essex Agricultural Society DBA Topsfield Fair Topsfield Fair Website Redesign Project
Essex National Heritage Commission, Inc. Essex Coastal Scenic Byway Website and Interactive Map
Firehouse Center for the Arts Firehouse Center for the Arts’ Tourism Web Development Project
Gloucester Stage Company Gloucester Stage Company Extended Stay Project
Gloucester Tourism Alliance DBA Discover Gloucester 2019-2020 Discover Gloucester Visitor Guide
Greater Haverhill Chamber of Commerce Greater Haverhill Visitor Guide
Greater Newburyport Chamber of Commerce 2019 Visitor and Resource Guide to Greater Newburyport
Marblehead Chamber of Commerce 2019 Marblehead Visitor Guide and Map
Marblehead Museum Marblehead Museum Website Update
Peabody Main Streets Peabody Visitor Guide and Map
Rockport Chamber of Commerce, a Division of the Cape Ann Chamber of Commerce 2019 Rockport Visitors’ Map and Guide

2019-2020 Board of Directors

Executive Board

Jennifer Close, Chair  – Peabody Essex Museum

Tami O’Brien, Vice Chair – Encompass Premiums & Apparel

James O’Brien, Treasurer – Topsfield Fair

Bethany Groff Dorau, Secretary – Historic New England

Krista Marchand, At Large – Wylie Inn & Conference Center

Karen Nascembeni, At Large – North Shore Music Theatre

Kate Fox, Immediate Past Chair – Destination Salem

Board of Directors

Matt Anzivino, Rockport Inn & Suites

Tara B. Bassett – Boston Marriott Peabody

Joe Bevilacqua – Merrimack Valley Chamber of Commerce

Jo Broderick – Montserrat College of Art

Elizabeth Carey – Discover Gloucester

Heather Dagle – 7 Seas Whale Watch

Kassandra Gove- Amesbury Chamber of Commerce & Industrial Foundation

Jeanne Hennessey – Beauport Hospitality Group

John Orlando – The Harborview Inn

Ann Ormond, Town of Andover

Gia Page – Davio’s Lynnfield

Robert Simonelli – The Landing Restaurant

Merry Ward- Salem Witch Museum

Ann Marie Casey, North of Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau – Ex Officio

New Directors

Lynne Blangiardi – Hampton Inn & Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston-Peabody

Sarah Boucher – Briar Barn Inn, a Bramble Hospitality property

Departing Directors

Julie Arrison-Bishop – The House of the Seven Gables

Please CLICK HERE to access our 2018 photo gallery.